Three St. Louis-Area Business Owners Named EY Entrepreneur of the Year

June 16 at the Arvest Bank Theatre at the Midland in Kansas City, Ernst & Young announced the Central Midwest Region winners of the EY Entrepreneur of the Year Award at a black-tie gala. Of the seven winners, three business owners were from the St. Louis area: Mike DeCola, HBM Holdings Company in Sunset Hills, Jim Meyer, Italgrani USA of St. Louis and John Howe, Manna Pro Products, LCC of Chesterfield.


EY has had a tremendous history in honoring outstanding entrepreneurs during the past 30 years,” said Dave Anderson, EY Entrepreneur Of The Year program director for the Central Midwest. “This year’s winners have not only taken their companies to the top, but they have also acted as mentors to their employees and made impressive contributions to their communities.”

This year marks the award’s 30th anniversary. The entrepreneurs were selected by an independent judging panel made up of previous winners of the award, leading CEOs, private capital investors and other regional business leaders. The seven winners from the Central Midwest Region will now compete in the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year National Overall Award in California in November. The Entrepreneur Of The Year National Overall Award winner then moves on to compete for the EY World Entrepreneur Of The Year™ Award.

Award winners in several national categories, as well as the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year Overall National Award winner, will be announced at the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year National Awards gala in Palm Springs, California, on November 19, 2016. The US Entrepreneur Of The Year Overall Award winner then moves on to compete for the World Entrepreneur Of The Year Award in Monaco, June 2017.

Entrepreneur Of The Year is the world’s most prestigious business award for entrepreneurs, celebrating those who are building and leading successful, growing and dynamic businesses, recognizing them through regional, national and global awards programs in more than 145 cities in more than 60 countries.

Founded and produced by EY, Entrepreneur Of The Year is sponsored nationally by SAP America, Merrill Corporation and the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation. In the Central Midwest, region sponsors include PNC Bank, Lathrop & Gage, Lockton Companies and Common Ground Public Relations.


Mentioned in this Article

Stories published by EQ Staff indicate that the article has been produced by multiple authors or adapted from a press release that's been sent to the editorial team. If you'd like to submit a press release for consideration or please join the EQ Accelerate program. Feel free to drop us a line to learn more. Press releases are not guaranteed paid for placements and are selected for publishing on a merit basis.